Omm…

Hi Guys!

I want to start this post off with a quote that a friend of mine posted on Facebook a couple days ago.

“On this path no effort is wasted,
no gain is ever reversed;
even a little of this practice
will shelter you from great sorrow.”
Bhagavad Gita 2:40

This quote has become part of my daily thought. It has become something that I have been trying to remind myself of because I tend to be “too” hard on myself at times.

It has been a little over two months that I have taken up the practice of Yoga.

Over the years I have tried to take up yoga, but it has always been an EPIC fail!

(One time, my really good friend and I decided to take a yoga class together and well, we got kicked out and were told to never go back!)

…Still an epic fail but not an EPIC fail! lol Baby steps…Fist comes like, then comes like like, then comes LOVE! I have enter the stage of LOVE….which by the way, I never thought it would happen!

Something was different about this attempt to turn yoga into a constant in my life. I don’t know if it was the amazing energy of the instructor that I met at my gym who walks into every class with this glow and warm embrace that validates your existence (which is what every person on this planet seeks: validation.) or if I was finally ready to take in what the practice of yoga had to offer me.

 

 

Regardless of how old one is, I believe that at some point (if not many points) of their lives, they reach a part of their life where they are in need of something more. Where they start saying and asking things like , “there has to be more out there!” or “what the hell am I doing with my life?!” or even “where do I begin to…”  and along the way of trying to answer these questions and fill in the blanks, so many things happen.

During the search you tend to go a little crazy and get even more stressed than needed and then you stop….take a minute to breathe and think “well shit!”…or at least I did.

For a majority of my life, I spent my time comparing myself to others and one day I woke up and I was like “Fuck it! It is what is and I am who I am and this is probably who I will be for the rest of my life!”

It has been some time since that day and since then I have been trying to figure things out…and to be honest, trying to figure things out has been a maddening experience.

Thankfully, through the practice of yoga and this quote :

“On this path no effort is wasted,
no gain is ever reversed;
even a little of this practice
will shelter you from great sorrow.”
Bhagavad Gita 2:40

…I have found some calm. I am beginning to learn and be okay with the fact that everyday is just a small piece that is helping put together the bigger picture. The fact that I am able to wake up in the morning and take one breath, that is enough…I will be and am enough.

In the new year, I hope that everyone in the world finds their calm…their strength and worthiness…I have been fortunate to find mine and what I have found is what I wish for the world…

Until next time, remember that you’re enough!

Oh and stay classy and fabulous!

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

